Agent Spotlight: Meet Luke

For our sixth agent spotlight, we decided to feature Luke Lichtensteiger, our farm insurance agent, farmer, and pretty much all around farm extraordinaire! We hope you enjoy getting to know Luke just as much as we enjoy having him on our team. Thanks for all you contribute to LSI (including the laughs), Luke. You rock! 🙂

AC: Tell us a little bit about yourself, your family, and any hobbies outside of farming and insurance. 

LL: I have been married to my wife Kristin for 7 years since June of 2009. Together Kristin and I have three kids: Tate, who is 5, Mila who is 4, and Jep who is one and half. We also have a little boy along the way, due in November. Aside from farming and insurance, I enjoy playing with my kids and hanging out with my entire family. I also like to play golf and volleyball when I have a free moment, as well as watching football.

AC: How did you get started in working with insurance and farming? Did one sort of lead you to another?   

LL: I graduated from Saint Francis in 2009, where I received a degree in business administration with a concentration in finance. When I came back home, I was planning on farming as my full-time job. However, my grandpa came up to me and asked if I was going to be looking for another full-time job. I took that as my cue to consider a second job. It really was not until he said that, that I began looking for something alongside farming.

My family and I grew up next to the Myers’, and one night in 2009, Kristin and I were taking a walk down the road when we passed Randy and Betty. He actually asked me on the spot if I would be interested in working for LSI, and the rest is history. The funny part is I had just spent the entire day sending my resume to many of the banks around town, hoping to work with finance and agriculture credit. It’s crazy how everything worked out from that walk. I’ve been here ever since.

AC: How do you think being a farmer has benefited you in selling farm insurance to your clients?

LL: As a farmer, I  get to see first-hand the changes of new equipment, technology, and techniques, which in turn helps me better relate to my clients who are doing the very same thing. Because of that, I can take my experience as a farmer and help my clients find and understand the coverage that works best for their particular property.

AC: What do you like most about the Van Wert surrounding area and communities? 

LL: I love that no matter where you go in the county, people know you and are always open and willing to talk to you. It’s a welcoming environment and a great place to raise a family.

AC: Any fun fact about yourself that people usually don’t know? 

LL: I have my State FFA degree, which is something a lot of people may not know about me.

AC: Why do you love working at LSI? Any favorite aspect about working with insurance? 

LL: My favorite part about this job is working with the many farmers, and getting to hear the different ways they manage and run their farms. As far as working at LSI, I love the many friendships I have developed over the years of working here, and also the way you get treated like you’ve always been a part of this work family from day one.

Luke Agent pic.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

